M-F: 8am-4pm


15 Mountain Blvd
Watchung, NJ 07069


Mon-Fri: 8am-4pm
Phone: 908.756.0080
Address: 15 Mountain Blvd
Watchung, NJ 07069

Planning Board

Member Information

Authority: N.J.S.A. 40:55D-23 et. seq. Code 28-701

Members: 9 Regular Members; 2 Alternate Members for 2-year terms. All Members must be residents, except for Class II; comprised of following categories:

  • Class I  –  Mayor or Mayor’s designee for term of office
  • Class II – Borough Official (not of Council) appointed by Mayor, may be member of Environmental Commission who is also member of Planning Board, for same term as other board
  • Class III – Member of Council, appointed by Council, for 1-year term
  • Class IV – Residents of Borough appointed by Mayor for 4-year terms, hold no other office except 1 may be of Zoning Board of Adjustment OR Historic Preservation Commission, 1 may be member of Board of Education, 1 may be member of Environmental commission (who is also in Planning Board) unless there is a member of Zoning Board of Adjustment or Historic Preservation Commission and a member of Board of Ed. Term of 4-years

Ronald Jubin, Ph.D. - Class I
Mayor’s term

Karen Pennett - Class II
Ending 12/31/2026

Robert Gibbs - Class III
Ending 12/31/2024

Tracee Schaefer, Chair - Class IV
Ending 12/31/2024

Don Speeney, Vice Chair - Class IV
Ending 12/31/2025

Stephen Pote - Class IV
Ending 12/31/2024

Troy Sims - Class IV
Ending 12/31/2026

Ellen Spingler - Class IV
Ending 12/31/2025

Jennifer Kobliska - Class IV
Ending 12/31/2027

Jackie Bodnar, Alt. #1 - Class IV
Ending 12/31/2025

Dustin M. Antonio, Alt. #2 - Class IV
Ending 12/31/2024

Board Officials

Board Attorney:
Francis P. Linnus, Esq.
11 Clyde Road, Suite 201
Somerset, NJ 08873
(732) 873-0500
[email protected]

Board Engineer: Richard Calbi, Brightview Engineering


Catherine Furlan, Board Clerk
Tel. (908) 756-0080 ext. 238
[email protected]

15 Mountain Boulevard
Watchung, NJ 07069